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Law Compliance Reminders

Master Certificate Stipends 
(National Board Certification Stipend)

In accordance with the Illinois Teaching 
Excellence Program, the Illinois State Board of 
Education (ISBE) provides an annual payment 
of $3,000 for each teacher or school counselor 
who holds a Master Certificate and a correspond-
ing certificate issued by the National Board for 
Professional Teaching Standards. Additional 
Master Certificate incentive payments may be 
earned for providing mentoring and professional 
development services. 

The Illinois legislature requires ISBE to distrib-
ute these funds to the school district. The district 
is responsible for distributing the required pay-
ments to each eligible educator. ISBE provides 
the employer with a list of eligible teachers and 
counselors. The correspondence from ISBE also 
identifies the amount to be distributed to each 
person and the school year for which payment 
is being issued. 

TRS recognizes Master Certificate mentoring, 
professional development, and annual payments 
as creditable earnings. TRS requires Master 
Certificate payments to be reported on an accrual 
basis in the year earned, which may not be the 
same year payment is actually issued. Follow 
the accrual reporting requirements described in 
Chapter 3 of the TRS Employer Guide. 

Hard-to-Staff School Stipends
Public Act 95-0938, which went into effect on 
August 29, 2008, clarified the terms of the Salary 
Incentive Program for Hard-to-Staff Schools. 
Under P.A. 95-0938, ISBE is required to provide 
stipends for teachers and administrators who 
work in hard-to-staff schools. ISBE provides 

qualifying school districts the funds with which 
the districts are required to pay the stipends to 
specified teachers and administrators.

Stipends paid in accordance with the Salary 
Incentive Program for Hard-to-Staff Schools are 
reportable to TRS as creditable earnings in the 
school year paid. Follow the lump-sum report-
ing rules described in Chapter 3 of the TRS 
Employer Guide.

Exemption Eligibility
Stipends paid by June 30, 2011 in accordance 
with the Illinois Teaching Excellence Program 
and the Salary Incentive Program for Hard-
to-Staff Schools qualify for salary exemption 
under the provisions of Public Act 94-1057. If a 
retiring member’s salary increases by more than 
6 percent because of this stipend, the employer 
may apply for a salary exemption by submitting 
a Salary Exemption Affidavit form to TRS. To 
qualify for the exemption, the employer must 
return the affidavit to TRS within 30 days of 
receiving the bill for the contribution cost of the 
salary increase. The section labeled “Payment 
made to the teacher from the State of Illinois or 
the Illinois State Board of Education over which 
the employer does not have discretion” must be 
completed. The affidavit must be signed by the 
district superintendent, business manager, or 
payroll officer. 

Policies that Conflict 
with TRS Rules
The state statutes set forth in the Illinois Pension 
Code and the Illinois Administrative Code estab-
lish the laws, rules, and policies governing TRS. 
When a collective bargaining agreement (CBA), 
individual contract, or school district policy 

http://trs.illinois.gov/subsections/employers/pubs/employerguide/guide.htm
http://trs.illinois.gov/subsections/employers/pubs/employerguide/guide.htm
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contains provisions that are not in compliance 
with the Illinois Pension Code and the Illinois 
Administrative Code, the state statutes prevail.

Employer contributions 
cannot be paid by members 
TRS recently reviewed several CBAs and indi-
vidual contracts that require the retiring member 
to pay the cost the employer incurs for sick leave 
days granted in excess of the normal annual 
allotment and/or salary increases in excess of 
6 percent. These provisions are in violation of 
the state statutes and the Internal Revenue Code.

Any cost designated as an employer contribution 
must be paid by the employer. A TRS member 
may not pay an employer contribution directly 
to TRS or reimburse the employer for a required 
employer contribution. Costs that must be paid 
by the employer include:

•	 retirement contributions for sick leave 
days granted in excess of the normal 
annual allotment,

•	 retirement contributions for salary 
increases in excess of 6 percent,

•	 employer ERO contributions,

•	 employer contributions on federally- 
funded salaries (23.38 percent),

•	 employer contributions for member ben-
efit increases (0.58 percent), and

•	 employer contributions to the Teachers’ 
Health Insurance Security Fund (0.63 
percent).

Sick leave reporting provisions
A TRS member may receive a maximum of two 
years service credit for sick leave days that are 
unused, uncompensated and available for use. 
Sick leave reporting is not optional. The employer 
must follow the sick leave rules established by 
the statutes set forth in the Illinois Pension Code 
and Illinois Administrative Code. Please refer 
to Chapter 6 of the TRS Employer Guide for
more information.

Sick leave days are considered compensated if 
they are used in the calculation of a payment 

that qualifies as TRS creditable earnings. If no 
payment is issued, or if the payment related 
to unused sick leave does not qualify as cred-
itable earnings under the lump-sum rules, 
then the days are considered uncompensated. 
Compensated days must be excluded from the 
number of sick days reported to TRS for service 
credit. Uncompensated days must be included 
in the number reported to TRS for service credit. 
These guidelines apply to all available sick leave 
days, even if the member has accumulated more 
than 340 days.

Many CBAs and contracts allow post-retirement 
payments for unused sick leave days that are not 
reported to TRS as service credit. These provi-
sions incorrectly assume that the employer or 
member may elect not to report unused, uncom-
pensated sick leave days to TRS. 

Example:
District 1’s CBA states, “The retiring teacher shall 
be paid $50 for each unused sick leave day that 
was not used for TRS service credit. Payment 
shall be issued on September 1 following the 
member’s retirement date.” Teacher A plans to 
retire on June 4, 2010 after working at District 
1 for 34 years. Teacher A will have 385 unused 
sick leave days available for use at the time she 
retires. She notifies District 1 that she wants 
170 days reported to TRS for service credit and 
to receive payment for the remaining balance of 
215 days. District 1 will issue the final regular 
paycheck to Teacher A on August 27, 2010. The 
terms of this CBA are in violation of the state 
statutes. 

If District 1 issues payment to Teacher A for 215 
sick leave days on September 1, 2010, then in 
order to comply with the statutes, District 1 must 
report 385 unused, uncompensated sick leave 
days on Teacher A’s Supplementary Report. In 
this example, by paying Teacher A for days that 
are also reportable to TRS for service credit, 
District 1 violates the terms of the CBA. 

If District 1 issues payment to Teacher A for 215 
sick leave days on or before August 27, 2010, 
then District 1 must report 170 unused, uncom-
pensated sick leave days and must include the 

http://trs.illinois.gov/subsections/employers/pubs/employerguide/guide.htm
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lump-sum payment on Teacher A’s Supplementary 
Report. If the lump-sum payment causes Teacher 
A’s 2009-10 salary to increase more than 6 per-
cent over her 2008-09 salary, District 1 will be 
responsible for paying the resulting contribution 
cost to TRS. In order to comply with the statutes, 
District 1 issues the sick leave payment earlier 
than the CBA specifies.

Termination of PDP Program  
On June 30, 2010, the TRS Payroll Deduction 
Program (PDP) will end. June 2010 is the last 
month before-tax PDP deductions can be taken 
from participants’ earnings. Employers that pay 
all summer paychecks in June must deduct only 
one month’s PDP contribution amount. PDP 
contributions must not be deducted for July or 
August 2010 even if those payrolls are processed 
in June. 

Membership Information and  
Beneficiary Designation forms
Please have all new members complete the 
Membership Information and Beneficiary 
Designation (MIBD) form when they are hired. 
This form provides TRS with the member’s 
demographic and beneficiary information. 
Completion of this form also allows TRS to estab-
lish an account for the member. Please submit 
the original form to TRS as soon as the member 
has completed it. Do not hold the form.

The MIBD form is available under the member 
forms section of the TRS Web site, trs.illinois.gov.

http://trs.illinois.gov/subsections/members/forms/mibd.pdf

