TRS of Illinois

TRS Active Member Trustee Election on May 1

An election will be held on May 1, 2017 to fill two active teacher seats on the TRS Board of Trustees.

Eligible voters are actively working TRS members as of March 1, 2017.

Active members who have a valid email address on file with TRS will receive a notice in early April informing them that they may begin casting their votes through their TRS secure online accounts. Active members who do not have a valid email on file with TRS or do not have a web account established will receive a paper ballot in the mail at their home address. Paper election ballots will be mailed in early April. All ballots – electronic or paper – must be completed and received by TRS no later than 10 a.m. on May 1, 2017.

The candidates vying for the two seats, in alphabetical order, are Mark Bailey, Frank J. Biga III, Rainy Kaplan*, and Fred Peronto.

By state law, six members of the 13-member Board are elected by TRS members – four by active teachers and two by annuitants. Six trustees are appointed by the governor. All trustees serve staggered four-year terms. The State Superintendent of Schools serves as the president of the Board and is the 13th trustee.

* Please be advised that on April 6, 2017, incumbent Trustee Rainy Kaplan of Schaumburg decided to withdraw her candidacy for another term on the TRS Board. However, because the ballot was finalized prior to April 1, her name still appears on the official ballot.

Candidate Biographies
Sign in to your Member Account for the Election Ballot:
Account Access

Annuitant Trustee Election Uncontested

Larry Pfeiffer of Carlinville will begin his term as TRS trustee on July 15, 2017. He will serve a four-year term.

No annuitant trustee election is required in 2017 because Mr. Pfeiffer was the only annuitant to file the requisite number of petition signatures for election to the Board as an annuitant trustee.

Mr. Pfeiffer will fill the seat currently occupied by Trustee Bob Lyons of Hoffman Estates. Bob is retiring at the end of his current term after 12 years of service as a TRS trustee.