TRS of Illinois http://trs.illinois.gov
TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS


Board of Trustees Members

TRS is governed by a 13-member Board of Trustees. Trustees include the state superintendent of education, six trustees appointed by the governor, four trustees elected by contributing TRS members, and two trustees elected by TRS annuitants. One appointed position is vacant.

The president of the Board of Trustees, by law, is the Illinois superintendent of education. The Board of Trustees elects its vice president from among its members. The Board of Trustees appoints an executive director who also serves as the secretary of the Board of Trustees. The executive director is responsible for daily operations at TRS.

Trustee Appointed/Elected 1st Term Current Term Expires Residence Contact
Tony Smith, President

Tony Smith

President by statute


President by statute

May 2015
Ex-officio,
term runs concurrent with State Superintendent appointment

Springfield

trustee_smith@trs.illinois.gov
Cinda Klickna, trustee

Cinda Klickna
Vice-President


Elected

February 2003

July 2019

Rochester

trustee_klickna@trs.illinois.gov
Mark Bailey, trustee

Mark Bailey


Elected

July 2013

July 2017

Palos Park

trustee_bailey@trs.illinois.gov
Ann Deters, trustee

Ann Deters

Appointed February 2016 July 2020 Effingham trustee_deters@trs.illinois.gov
Andrew Hirshman, trustee

Andrew Hirshman


Elected

July 2015

July 2019

Oak Park

trustee_hirshman@trs.illinois.gov
Rainy Kaplan, Trustee

Rainy Kaplan


Elected

July 2013

July 2017

Schaumburg

trustee_kaplan@trs.illinois.gov
Bob Lyons, trustee

Bob Lyons


Elected

July 2005

July 2017

Hoffman Estates

trustee_lyons@trs.illinois.gov
Laura Pearl, trustee

Laura Pearl


Appointed

August 2016

July 2020

Glenview


Anne Marie Splitstone


Appointed

August 2016

July 2020

Elmhurst

Alexander Stuart, trustee

Alexander Stuart


Appointed

June 2015

July 2018

Lake Forest
trustee_stuart@trs.illinois.gov
Daniel Winter, trustee

Daniel Winter


Elected

July 2015

July 2019

Decatur
trustee_dwinter@trs.illinois.gov
Randall Winters, trustee

Randall Winters

Appointed February 2016 July 2018 Highland Park trustee_rwinters@trs.illinois.gov